Holdem Poker Online is a member of the THP Texas Holdem Online Poker strategy network.



Web Links Appearing on my Desktop



Posted Sun Nov 12, 2006 12:32 am GMT by lwestatbus
Shortly after changing poker sites (because of the US ban) and downloading the new site's software I started seeing promotional web links appearing on my Windows desktop. There have been two so far and one was to Lending Tree and the other to a company I didn't recognize. I am pretty careful about what I do with my computer (other than playing poker online Very Happy) and don't know where these might have come from.

I don't want to name my poker site (yet) as I've got no idea whether there is any link between the two events.

Has anyone else experienced this?

I'd sure as hell hate to find that cheezewhiz is right.


Ante Up at PartyPokerStarts in 8 minutes
Americas Summer Million Qualifier Speed at PartyPokerStarts in 23 minutes
Welcome Lounge at PartyPokerStarts in 23 minutes
MaisEV Freeroll Iniciantes #2 at PartyPokerStarts in 28 minutes
Summer Million Sub Qualifier Speed Rebuy at PartyPokerStarts in 33 minutes
$200K Gtd Sunday 25 Point Qualifier at PartyPokerStarts in 38 minutes
WSOP Sub Qualifier Speed Rebuy at PartyPokerStarts in 53 minutes
$1,500 Gtd Speed Rebuy at PartyPokerStarts in 53 minutes
10 PP Summer Million Special Qualifier Turbo at PartyPokerStarts in 58 minutes
50 Seat Frenzy Qualifier at PartyPokerStarts in 1 hour, 13 minutes
Show all upcoming online poker freerolls

Did you know that participating in a poker forum can help you improve your own game? Be it by sharing experiences or simply asking for help, participation in a forum helps you focus and keep 'on topic' which will help you improve your game. You can learn from other players feedback and from their experiences. Why the THP poker forums? We offer one of the best managed texas holdem poker forums available, and the community within is far more friendly than those typicaly found on other sites.

We've made a 'lurkers edition' of the poker forum available here on Holdem Poker Online, but we encourage all visitors to
register and join in on the conversations on TexasHoldem-Poker.com


Posted Sun Nov 12, 2006 1:28 am GMT by misterjokerboy
I've downloaded quite a few different poker sites' software and haven't come across this.


Posted Sun Nov 12, 2006 7:25 am GMT by wEbMaStEr
Some sites do use tracking cookies, Prima and Titan show as containing spyware if you run Adaware, but I've yet to find any which spam sites in this way.

I'd be interested to see what these ads look like if you could provide a screenshot.

I think it's more likely to be something other than a poker site, run spyware and antivirus software.

Are the ads small and grey? Could it be windows messenger ads?



Posted Sun Nov 12, 2006 2:51 pm GMT by 0neEyedWilly
The last time something like this happened to me I had a trojan. Confused


Posted Mon Nov 13, 2006 2:35 pm GMT by UrAteUp
lwest...download spybot S&D (it's free) install and update it and then run it. You might also want to download and install adaware. It is free also and the two together will catch any adware that has been downloaded on your computer.

I have yet to see a poker site that came with spyware but it wouldn't surprise me soon to see these .net sites doing it.... Very Mad






Latest poker forum activity