
Posted Tue Nov 14, 2006 12:50 pm GMT by Ben4040
I just signed up for PokerStars and made a deposit using eChecks. It said my deposit when through, then I receive this email two days later:
Dear SilentV,
We have been informed by Pstar Payments (the company that processes eCheck transactions for PokerStars) that the following deposit was not honoured by your bank:
Reference Number : ************
Amount: **********
Date: 2006-11-11
Reason: Incorrect customer information
As Pstar Payments is unable to re-submit your deposit to your bank for processing, Pstar Payments has assigned collection of these funds to a collection agency. The agency will contact you and you will need to arrange payment through the collection agency. This will not affect your credit rating unless you fail to make payment for the funds owing through the collection agency.
The amount you will need to remit to the collection agency will include an administration fee from Pstar Payments of up to $40.00 USD. The amount of the administration fee varies depending on which state/province you live in.
You may still play and make deposits at PokerStars, but you will not be able to use the eCheck deposit method again until your returned deposit has been repaid to Pstar Payments through the collection agency.
If you have any questions, please email Pstar Payments at support@pstarpayments.com.
Regards,
PokerStars Payments Department
I don't understand how this happened. It said my eCheck went through, so I started playing. All of a sudden I receive this email and they are telling me I am going to have to pay an administrative fee? I'm very upset, especially since I am a new customer to the site. Has anyone experienced something similar? If so, what did you do?
Did you know that participating in a poker forum can help you improve your own game? Be it by sharing experiences or simply asking for help, participation in a forum helps you focus and keep 'on topic' which will help you improve your game. You can learn from other players feedback and from their experiences. Why the THP poker forums? We offer one of the best managed texas holdem poker forums available, and the community within is far more friendly than those typicaly found on other sites. We've made a 'lurkers edition' of the poker forum available here on Holdem Poker Online, but we encourage all visitors to register and join in on the conversations on TexasHoldem-Poker.com
Posted Tue Nov 14, 2006 1:51 pm GMT by Dave B
If you are in the USA and trying to use an electronic check directly, then your bank would be breaking the law to accept this.
You bank is wise not to honor your check.
Posted Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:11 am GMT by shorn7
Ben-
YOu should set up a Neteller account for now and transfer from your bank to Neteller via EFT. Then you can go back and forth to the site without difficulty. As far as I know, no bank is yet refusing to do EFT's with Neteller.
Shorn
Posted Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:31 am GMT by MrDarling
are you sure this came from Pokerstar?
Maybe it is a scam?
I'm always very careful about emails arriving from people I don't know. Even it the address was support@PokerStars.com I would still not trust the email.
Do not ever click on a link in an email that have anything to do with money. If in doubt, log in to PS site and use the contact info there to contact them.
Just a note on the paranoid side.
Posted Wed Nov 15, 2006 12:10 pm GMT by crack
Either that or someone just got owned.
Posted Thu Nov 16, 2006 12:00 pm GMT by jimmer
| MrDarling wrote: | are you sure this came from Pokerstar?
Maybe it is a scam? |
yeah i agree. support@pstarpayments.com seems a bit off the mark.
I once got an email from tescos supermarket about an online purchase. therewas a problem with my creditcard. i had to confirm the details to their customer services dept. the email was tesco@customerservices.co.uk
i thought this should have been customerservices@tesco.co.uk and never replied. I recieved my purchase the following day.
(man, I talk a boring story)
Posted Thu Nov 16, 2006 5:37 pm GMT by lwestatbus
My vote is with Dave. You live in the US like I do and I'll bet the bank won't honor the transfer. The reason given is probably boiler plate from a code since the payment processing system developers probably don't yet have a rejection code for, "You are trying to do something illegal and we don't want to go to jail."
I also vote with shorn on NETeller. I switched to PS when PokerRoom threw me out and my NETeller transfer was active immediately.
It's a bummer you got caught up in this. You might try contacting PS to see if they will waive the fees if you cover the check through an alternative means. Good luck.
Posted Thu Nov 16, 2006 5:56 pm GMT by vyni
http://www.pokerstars.com/poker/real-money/echecks/terms/
It would look and sound legitimate: I'm certain its simply a matter of US institutions recognizing the merchant as pokerstars, and declining the transaction. As mentioned above, third parties are still active in the US market (for now).
However.....
pokerstars is registered to:
Domain Name: POKERSTARS.COM
Administrative Contact , Technical Contact :
Services Ltd., Rational **
dnsadmin@pokerstars.com
Douglas Bay Complex
Onchan, Isle of Man IM1 3DZ
UK
pstarpayments is registered to:
Administrative Contact:
Manager, Domain domains@gatewayisi.com
Gateway Internet Solutions Inc.
150 Eglinton Ave E, Suite 306
Toronto, Ontario M4P 1E8
Canada
I find that odd.
Would pokerstars name/publish a service without registering the proper domains, simply to avoid phishing? If they had not... if it's a phisher... sweet mother that's one ignorant move of pokerstars part. One would think they'ld make every effort possible to protect their users.
So in the end, contact pokerstars directly. Have them transfer you to the appropriate office, or get the contact info straight from them.
Posted Fri Nov 17, 2006 1:38 am GMT by efram
I did a whois on the domain of that email you got. Just created March 03.
If this is true
| Quote: | | We have been informed by Pstar Payments (the company that processes eCheck transactions for PokerStars) that the following deposit was not honoured by your bank: |
You'd think they'd have registered their domain loooong before Mar 2006.
Seems phishy to me. Email support@pokerstars.net and see what they think.
Whois Server Version 2.0
Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
for detailed information.
Domain Name: PSTARPAYMENTS.COM
Registrar: GO DADDY SOFTWARE, INC.
Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com
Referral URL: http://registrar.godaddy.com
Name Server: NS2-AUTH.Q9.COM
Name Server: NS1-AUTH.Q9.COM
Status: REGISTRAR-LOCK
EPP Status: clientDeleteProhibited
EPP Status: clientRenewProhibited
EPP Status: clientTransferProhibited
EPP Status: clientUpdateProhibited
Updated Date: 03-Mar-2006
Creation Date: 03-Nov-2005
Expiration Date: 03-Nov-2007
|
|