
Posted Wed Apr 06, 2005 9:26 pm GMT by JohnnyJersey
hey...anyone know if this guy is lying about these chips being authentic bud jones chips? I could have sworn I saw this same auction a couple of weeks ago, and the seller was not sure if they were BJ or not...but now...he (or she) claims that they are BJ... maybe I am wrong however
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=63759&item=6169119831&rd=1&ssPageName=WDVW
Did you know that participating in a poker forum can help you improve your own game? Be it by sharing experiences or simply asking for help, participation in a forum helps you focus and keep 'on topic' which will help you improve your game. You can learn from other players feedback and from their experiences. Why the THP poker forums? We offer one of the best managed texas holdem poker forums available, and the community within is far more friendly than those typicaly found on other sites. We've made a 'lurkers edition' of the poker forum available here on Holdem Poker Online, but we encourage all visitors to register and join in on the conversations on TexasHoldem-Poker.com
Posted Wed Apr 06, 2005 10:17 pm GMT by Nanook
I have been watching e-bay for certain obsolete and retired real casino chips for quite some time. I am not an authority, however I have seen these many times and I about 99.99999999999999% sure they are not real BJ chips. Check out what they end up going for. They probably will sell for around $100
If they were from a real casino they would be MUCH more. Anything under $1 / chip for real casino BJ chips would be a steal.
Posted Wed Apr 06, 2005 10:55 pm GMT by JohnnyJersey
i'm pretty sure this dude sold one of these sets already...you are correct...they only sold for like 180 bucks (at the most)...what a sneaky bastard. I tend to think they are not authentic BJ's either...
Posted Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:18 pm GMT by tomb1
Yeah, lying... BJ never made that mold. (If I could feel one I could tell for 110% sure, but there's no doubt in my mind.)
Looks like this seller just bought these chips about 2 weeks ago for $215: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=63759&item=6166605203
At least that earlier seller was a little bit coy (at the bottom of the auction) about whether they were BJs, instead of just misrepresenting them baldly.
They might be OK chips, they're just not Bud Jones. When I saw them originally I wondered, because they don't look like any of the usual suspects for coin inlays (BJ, Matusi, the newer cheap Chinese, etc.).
|
|